Latest News Letter By John Ahen   18/05/2016




Araglin 2 – 10


Castletownroche 2 – 03


Araglin’s junior B hurlers followed up their win over Ballygarvan with a well deserved victory over Castletownroche on Tuesday evening in our third game in this year’s Cavanagh’s of Fermoy division 2 hurling league – we lost our two opening encounters to Churchtown and Kilshannig.


Played in very inclement conditions, sliotar control and striking were difficult. We had the bulk of possession in the opening half and our 1 – 04 to 0 – 02 lead didn’t reflect Araglin’s dominance – scores came via Gus (2 frees) points from play by Seamie O’Gorman and Cain O’Mahony plus a fortuitous goal by Tom Lyons that seemed to deceive the keeper. 


Our new look defensive set up consisted of Kevin Fitzgerald between the posts, with debutant, Donal Horgan and Paddy Kenneally flanking Shay at number 3. Shay and Paddy played up to their usual high standard with Donal also giving a good enough account of himself. Our half back line of Dooner, Paul Hickey and Tom Lyons was especially solid – all 3 played well with Tom Lyons in particular clearing an amount of ball. Captain, Brendan Allen and Liam Keane were the midfield pairing.


Castletown’ started the second half brightly and we went out of the game for 10 or so minutes. Our opponents got in for a goal after Gus (a free) and Cain got points – this made it 1 – 06 to Castletown’s 1 – 03. We weathered this particular storm and further points by Gus (2 frees) and a nicely worked Brendan Allen point increased our lead again. Castletown’ hit back with another goal, but we maintained a nice lead.


A reckless pull by a Castletown’ player on Cain O’Mahony gave referee, Dave O’Farrell Sr. little option but to show a red card. When Cain set up Gus who blasted home from close range, the game was decided. Gus got our 10th point to give us a total of 2 – 10 against 2- 03. Dave O’Farrell, shaved a few minutes off both halves, however, given the gloom, this was understandable and it didn’t affect the final outcome. Michael Lyons and Tom Browne who battled away in difficult conditions were withdrawn in favour of Stephen Heffernan and Mitch Barry – Kieran O’Donovan came on for Donal Horgan. Team, scorers and panel: Kevin Fitzgerald, Donal Horgan, Shay Russell, Paddy Kenneally, Tom Kenneally Jr., Paul Hickey, Tom Lyons (1. – 00), Brendan Allen (0 – 01), Liam Keane, Frank Finn, Cain O’Mahony (0 – 02), Seamie O’Gorman (0 – 01) Michael Lyons, James Kearney (1 – 06, 5 frees) and Tom Browne. Subs used: Stephen Heffernan for Michael Lyons, Kieran O’Donovan for Donal Horgan and Mitch Barry for Tom Browne. Panel: Philip Corbett, Laurence Lomasney, Sean Allen, Richie Whelan, Diarmuid Neligan, David Neligan.


Referee: Dave O’Farrell Sr. (Mitchelstown)




Sunday, 15th May in Ballyclough at 12 noon, Cavanagh’s of Fermoy division 2 hurling league, Araglin V Ballyclough.


Lotto results from 05th May


Numbers drawn: 01, 02, 28 & 32 (no winner). Lucky dips to: €50 – Claire Fitzgerald, Gortnahown, Mitchelstown, c.o. Emmet’s; €50 – Conor Reidy, London, England; €25 – Jerry Crowley, Kildinan and €25 – Helen O’Keeffe, Araglin. Next lotto, Thursday 12th May when the jackpot will be €11,900.  


National school extension


The official opening of the new extension to Araglin National School takes place on Friday, 20th May at 12.30pm – everyone welcome.


Araglin Dog Show


Araglin Dog Show takes place in Araglin Community Field on Sunday 5th June.


Next bingo on Friday 20th May


The next bingo in Araglin Hall takes place Friday evening 20th May at 8.30pm.


Club Lotto


Lotto Results



JACKPOT WAS NOT WON LUCKY DIP WINNERS €50 Jessica Twomey c/o Denis Twomey €50 Caroline Hickey c/o Emmet Allen €25 Mike Fitzgerald c/o Online €25 Shane O'Neill c/o Fitgerald Hurley's NEXT DRAW 19th MARCH JACKPOT €8700

Club Shop